About Us

4 New Square Chambers is a leading barristers’ chambers specialising in commercial litigation and arbitration. Our members act and advise in disputes in the UK and internationally, and have a well-earned reputation for the strength of their advocacy and client focus.

We are regularly instructed in some of the largest disputes handled in courts and tribunals worldwide, including many of the landmark legal cases of the 20th and 21st centuries.

We are known not only for our legal credentials but also our commerciality, excellent client service and collegiate working practices.   We are committed to furthering equality and diversity and maintaining a friendly working environment which nurtures member and staff wellbeing.

A number of former members of chambers have gone on to hold high judicial office in both the Court of Appeal and the Supreme Court.

  • Baroness Carr, Lady Chief Justice of England and Wales is the first Lady Chief Justice of England and Wales. Sue joined 4 New Square Chambers as a tenant in 1988 and was Head of Chambers in 2012/2013. She was appointed to the High Court, Queen’s Bench Division in 2013, and became the second female High Court Judge to sit in the Commercial Court and the first female High Court Judge to sit in the Technology and Construction Court in 2014. In the same year, she became a member of the Investigatory Powers Tribunal, a role she held until 2016. She became a Presider of the Midland Circuit from 2016 until 2020, when she was appointed as a Lady Justice of Appeal. In the same year she was also appointed as the senior Judicial Commissioner and Vice Chair of the Judicial Appointments Commission, a position she held until January 2023.
  • The Rt Hon Lord Justice Stuart-Smith has served as a Lord Justice of the Court of Appeal since 2020. Jeremy was Head of Chambers at 4 New Square Chambers between 2009 and 2012. He was appointed a Recorder in 1996, a Deputy High Court Judge in 2004, and a High Court Judge (Queen’s Bench Division) in 2012. He was a Presiding Judge for the South Eastern Circuit from 2014 until 2018.
  • Sir Rupert Jackson served as a Lord Justice of the Court of Appeal between 2008 and 2018.  He was appointed to the High Court in 1999. He served as judge in charge of the Technology and Construction Court from 2004 until 2007.  After sitting as a judge for some 20 years, Sir Rupert re-joined 4 New Square Chambers as an arbitrator in March 2018 and has since sat on numerous international arbitration tribunals.
  • The late Lord Toulson was appointed Justice of the Supreme Court in April 2013. He retired in September 2016 but continued to serve on the Supreme Court’s Supplementary Panel. Between 2002 and 2006, Lord Toulson was Chairman of the Law Commission of England and Wales, after which he was appointed to the Court of Appeal. He also served on the Judicial Appointments Commission for England and Wales.
  • The late Sir Ralph Gibson was appointed as a Lord Justice of the Court of Appeal from 1985 to 1994 and chairman of the Law Commission from 1981 to 1985.

Sir Rupert Jackson is an Honorary Professor in the UCL Faculty of Law and an Honorary Fellow of Jesus College, Cambridge.

Jonathan Worboys is a Visiting Lecturer in public international law at King’s College London.

A number of leading legal texts are or have been written by current and former members of chambers:

Background Image

‘Without doubt, one of the best Chambers in England & Wales, unrivalled in the experience and abilities of its barristers’

Legal 500

If you would like to know more or have a question please talk to our clerks

Portfolio Builder

Select the expertise that you would like to download or add to the portfolio

Download    Add to portfolio   
Title Type CV Email

Remove All


Click here to share this shortlist.
(It will expire after 30 days.)