Can Yeginsu addresses The Council of Europe Conference of Ministers

Today and tomorrow, Council of Europe Member State Ministers responsible for Media and Information Society issues will meet in Nicosia to agree on action required to address the radical changes in the media and information environment. The Ministerial Conference will lead to the adoption of a final declaration and four resolutions addressing these important issues. These instruments will secure the political engagement of the Council of Europe and its member States for a number of priority actions and will contribute to the agenda of the Council of Europe’s Steering Committee on Media and Information Society’s (CDMSI), for the years to come.

Can Yeginsu will be addressing the Ministers today on “Taking Action to Ensure the Safety of Journalists” with Ms. Agnes Callamard, former UN Special Rapporteur and now Secretary General of Amnesty International. Their remarks will be followed by interventions from:

  • Ms Emma Lind, Vice Minister of Culture and Equality of Norway;
  • Mr Taras Shevchenko, Deputy Minister of Culture and Information Policy, Ukraine;
  • Ms Maureen Cormack, Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary, Bureau of European and Eurasian Affairs, Department of State, United States; and
  • Ms Inge Welbergen, Senior Legal Officer, Ministry of Education, Culture and Science, the Netherlands, Chair of the Council of Europe Steering Committee of Media and Information Society (CDMSI)

Can Yeginsu is a member of the High-Level of Panel of Legal Experts on Media Freedom convened by the governments of the United Kingdom and Canada to advise the 47 strong Media Freedom Coalition of States. The international advisory body is chaired by Lord Neuberger of Abbotsbury, former President of the UK Supreme Court; its Deputy Chair is Ms. Amal Clooney.

The Panel’s Advisory Report on Providing Safe Refuge to Journalists at Risk was authored by Can Yeginsu and has been endorsed by:

  • The UN Special Rapporteur on the Promotion and Protection of Freedom of Opinion and Expression;
  • The Special Rapporteur on Freedom of Expression of the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights;
  • The International Bar Association;
  • Reporters without Borders (RSF);
  • The Committee to Protect Journalists (CPJ);
  • ARTICLE 19;
  • English PEN, PEN International, and PEN America;
  • Media Defence;
  • Freedom House;
  • The Association of European Journalists;
  • Rights and Security International;
  • Free Press Unlimited;
  • The Rory Peck Trust;
  • The Raoul Wallenberg Centre for Human Rights;
  • Centre for Freedom of the Media (CFOM);
  • Canadian Journalists for Free Expression (CJFE);
  • Commonwealth Journalists Association;
  • Columbia Law School’s Human Rights Institute; and
  • Global Freedom of Expression at Columbia University.